thursday 13

This week: Inspired by the blog To My Wife (by which I am utterly charmed, I might add), 13 notes for your future spouse (sorry to leave out you married folks).

1. Please, please, never grow a mustache, ironic or not.

2. If we have to get a minivan, I’m plastering the back with rock band stickers.

3. The hair is going to stay short. Trust me, it’s better this way.

4. I will, on occasion, feel compelled to quote The Princess Bride or Monty Python’s Holy Grail at you. It’d be funnier if you joined along, but whatever.

5. If you happen to be a Baptist, fine, we won’t baptize the kids. But while we’re dedicating them, I’m going to be thinking there should be a bowl of water involved, just saying.

6. There are people who loved the ending of Lost, and people who hated it. I fall squarely in the former camp.

7. If you want to go skydiving or bungee jumping or something insane like that, you can totally go, but I’m going to be a nervous wreck while you do it.

8. There are very few things in the world that outright irritate me. Not shutting cabinet doors is one of them.

9. You can call me “Mandy” only if you’re singing the Irving Berlin song to me. (Skip to 2:23.)

10. I fidget a lot in my sleep, so I apologize in advance for kneeing you in the ribs.

11. You know that thing with the stuff that you like? I’ll pick some up for you.

12. If I’m really upset–not angry, but frustrated or depressed or generally sad or worried, maybe, which happens a lot (just a warning)–the best thing you can do is listen and stroke my hair, because for some reason that helps.

13. I know my hands are tiny, but they’re strong, so you can hold them a little more tightly than you think you can.

4 thoughts on “thursday 13

  1. The only word that comes to mind is “charming.” And I mean that sincerely.

    Yeah, when i found that website, i smacked myself in the forehead and wished i’d thought of it first.

  2. Am I the only person who thinks that blog is ripe for parody? (It’s being done already, but…I wish I were the one to think of *that.* :)) It’s the contrarian in me, I guess. I have an enjoy/disdain relationship with the concept of an ongoing public blog to a future spouse. Conjuring up hazy images of a future life with an as-of-yet unknown person just kind of puts me on edge. I love real love stories because they’re about two people who know each other as fully as two humans can know each other and still love each other. That’s the Incarnational beauty! But I guess I can see the plus side of knowing what you want and being able to articulate it. That is a benefit of singleness at this point in my life, and the blog could be a good conceit for expressing that. (But there could be too many complications in giving ALL of one’s “what-I-want-and-expect-in-a-relationship” musings an audience…)

    Having said that. Your list is a good one. There are some good tips for your friends and roommates to read, too (aka #8)! Your future husband is a blessed man indeed (and walking around now, a flesh-and-blood person, maybe reading this at some point! Gak!).

    1. Yeah, that is kind of an interesting thing, isn’t it, especially re: my point in the last post about people as people vs. ideas. These aren’t non-negotiables or anything (except for #8, as one of my old roommates can testify). Can’t speak for the “To My Wife” blog guy. I do think he’s kind of charming, though. (The “to my husband” equivalent, though, is not that great. I kind of hate it, actually.)

      My real expectations are that he is 1) male and heterosexual 2) a strong believer in Jesus 3) able to lead a family 4) employed (or pursuing an advanced degree) 5) someone I can go on mission with for the rest of my life. Oh, and able to put up with all my ridiculousness. The rest is gravy.

  3. Yeah, I like your list way better than the original “To my wife” thing. I think that guy may have some serious surprises in store when/if he gets married. Yours comes across as more honest/lovable. But I think you’re right about your real expectations. And actually, doing things you normally hate, or not doing things to which you are normally addicted, is part of the fun of marriage.

    Sam promised me the night we got engaged that he wouldn’t grow facial hair. 🙂 I guess the thing is, when you’re really in love, it isn’t just about being loved and accepted for exactly who you are, it’s sometimes about loving the other person so much that you are willing to change.

Leave a Reply

