everything turns around.

1. It’s Lent. Hence the color change to the blog, and hence why I’ve been rather quiet on Twitter and Facebook, those of you that are there. I’ve only been observing Lent for a few years, but it’s been getting more and more interesting the longer I do it. I’m not saying everyone has to do it, or should, but it’s been a sanity saver for me, especially the more I start to focus on God and not on myself or what I’m giving up. It helps to view the church calendar as another spiritual discipline–granted, not one commanded in Scripture, but it’s helpful as a means of ordering our time and seasonal rhythms in view of Jesus, and not the culture.

2. A guy I follow on Twitter, who’s a pastor in Illinois, has been thinking about open-air preaching–not the crazy hellfire and brimstone guys with big signs and a megaphone, but really thoughtful, solidly grounded guys going out in public places and engaging with people from a really biblical, missional, Jesus-centered worldview. (Initial post on it here.) That, in turn, has me thinking about how prayer always plays a part in revivals, too; I’ve been trying to figure out a way to get Christians here in Houston to come together and pray. Maybe it’ll be more organic, or maybe not, but it’d be helpful. It can’t hurt anything, at any rate.

The thing is, I don’t want it to be just one more church thing in people’s schedules; Houston church culture ensures that there’s a lot of those already. And where and when do you show up? I don’t know. Like I said, maybe it’ll be more organic than that. This has been something that’s been on my mind since I lived in Austin, honestly. We’ll see.

3. I don’t really have much else to say, but I’ve been listening to these two things more than is maybe healthy–the first is a bunch of Irish musicians (including Glen Hansard and Damien Rice) busking for charity on Christmas Eve last year, and the second is a song I just discovered thanks to All Songs Considered:

everything turns around.

One thought on “everything turns around.

Leave a Reply

