lent, week 5: wedding dress.

If you should love me as a wife
And for my wedding gift your life
Will that be all I’ll ever need
Or is there more I’m searching for

How easy is it for me to go chasing after
dreams, dreams I believe I was made to
fulfill, and forget that they are winds
meant to carry this ship into harbor.

Too often I want to steer against them;
too often you have to whisk them into
hurricanes to get me back on course.

And should I read between the lines
And look for blessings in disguise
To make me handsome, rich, and wise
Is that really what you want?

It’s not as though you want me to
just drift, but rather that the wind will
go where it wants to go, hovering
over the face of these waters like
a mother bird sheltering a baby that
cannot fly, cannot help herself.

I am a whore, I do confess
But I put you on just like a wedding dress
And I run down the aisle, run down the aisle

I’m a prodigal with no way home
But I put you on just like a ring of gold
And I run down the aisle, run down the aisle
To you

And when I raise my sails when I should
be still, or when I drop anchor when I ought
to be moving forward, help me see
that all the wind I’m chasing after
has been chasing after me all this time.

lent, week 5: wedding dress.

Leave a Reply

