alabama, arkansas, i do love my ma & pa…

1. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about that verse in Ephesians that says that Jesus came to unite all things in Himself, things in heaven and things on earth. We like to dichotomize a lot of things–intellect and emotion, soul and body, wrath and kindness, justice and mercy, the objective and the subjective, the contemplative and the active. I am of the mind that in Jesus, those things all kind of can dance together as friends, not fight as enemies. I mean, He came to redeem all of us, so why not?

2. Yesterday’s sermon from church has me considering how much violence is in my media diet. It’s a lot. I like war movies and sword fights and boxing [which I realize makes me a strange girl]. But is it helpful? I don’t know. I’ve always been sort of an emotionally violent person, and in reality I tend towards pacifism [allowing that there are times when force/war are necessary, but as a last resort], so it’s not like that caused that. And when watching works of fiction, I have just enough distance from it to realize that, oh, those are actors, they’re fine, and if that really happened to someone that would be awful.

But still, I have to ask myself how helpful it is to watch, even when it’s fake. Hard question.

3. Someone at work today told me, “You’re so sweet, everyone likes you.” To which my immediate reaction was, internally, “Woe to you when all men think well of you.” Uh-oh. I mean, not that I want to be a jerk, because that’s not the point, but, um. I’ve been convicted a lot lately of how bad I am at talking about my faith, and that was one more kick in the pants.

4. Part of my problem is that I have trouble knowing how to have strong convictions without being a jerk about it. I think the answer has something to do with love, and something to do with not making being right a high priority. So.

5. Have you guys heard Black Dub? They are amazing. I want them to make another album immediately.

6. The past few days, I’ve had the guitar solo from Wilco’s “At Least That’s What You Said”, “The Ballad of Sweeney Todd”, and the introit from Durufle’s Requiem stuck in my head. Simultaneously. I do not understand my own brain.

Leave a Reply

