the 2011 book review…

Here begins the shortest book list I think I have ever blogged. This year was light, at least for me, partially because of my misguided attempt to read nothing but books that were over 100 years old (an attempt I abandoned about halfway through the year), partially because I was kind of lazy and unfocused (as long as we’re being honest). But still, I did manage to read a fair amount, so here we go. An asterisk before it means I’ve read it before…

*January 7: Frances Hodgson Burnett, The Secret Garden
*January 17: Louisa May Alcott, Little Women
February 5: Charlotte Bronte, Jane Eyre
May 1: Arthur Conan Doyle, The Hound of the Baskervilles
May 22: Dante Aligheri, Inferno
July 4: Paul Harding, Tinkers
July 9: Bill Bryson, At Home
*July 13: J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
August 3: Jennifer Egan, A Visit From the Goon Squad
August 18: C.S. Lewis, God In the Dock
August 29: Suzanne Collins, The Hunger Games
*August 30: Lauren Winner, Real Sex: The Naked Truth About Chastity
September 10: David Mitchell, The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet
September 13: Suzanne Collins, Catching Fire
September 14: Suzanne Collins, Mockingjay
??? (sometime at the beginning of October)- Tim Keller, King’s Cross
October 22: Bede, A History of the English Church and People
October 23: John Piper, When I Don’t Desire God
October 23: N.T. Wright, After You Believe
November 2: Andrew Peterson, On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness
November 16: Scott Thomas and Tom Wood, Gospel Coach
November 20: Andrew Peterson, North! Or Be Eaten
*November 30: Molly Wizenberg, A Homemade Life
December 17: Brad House, Community: Taking Your Small Group Off Life Support
December 30: Tim and Kathy Keller, The Meaning of Marriage

Five best books of the year: I’m going to cheat a little bit, but The Hunger Games, Catching Fire and Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins, and On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness and North! Or Be Eaten by Andrew Peterson. Now, these five books are part of two series, and yes, they’re young adult novels, but good lord, if you haven’t read them, what are you waiting for?

They’re very different–The Hunger Games takes place in a dystopian future North America and involves war, torture, and teenagers fighting one another to the death on national television; Andrew Peterson’s books, part of a series called the Wingfeather Saga, tell the story of a family of two brothers and a sister who are on the run from the law because of their ties to an ancient kingdom. But both deal with themes of loss, courage, family, love, and healing, and both will take you on major rides. Of course, I think they come to two different conclusions about where that healing comes from, but I would commend both series to you. There are actually two other books in the Wingfeather Saga, one of which hasn’t even been written yet, so you’ve got some time to catch up. 🙂

Honorable mentions: When I Don’t Desire God (great resource for folks like me who lose sight of their joy easily, and the people who love them), A Visit From the Goon Squad (which won that Pulitzer for a reason, kids), The Meaning of Marriage (which I would commend to single and married people alike) and At Home (fun for history buffs and anyone curious about where things come from).

I’m currently in the middle of two which should be finished in the next couple of weeks or so, which I’m looking forward to. Here’s to a good reading year in 2012.

What did y’all love reading this year?

7 thoughts on “the 2011 book review…

  1. I’m 85% of the way done with Catching Fire (reading on Kindle, that’s why the percentage) and I’m dying! I’ve been waiting to finish the last bit for two days but I can’t decide who I think lives or dies or if everyone lives or dies even though there’s a third book, so I can’t finish it. But tomorrow’s the day. I have two more books to read before school starts again, so I have a schedule to keep.

    Enjoyed Hunger Games the most this year, followed by the Age of Innocence, then the Luxe series and all of Michelle Moran’s books. Young adult is too good to skip over (or law school makes me want something mindless to read–not sure).

      • Literally just finished Mockingjay. Don’t know how I feel about it, but I finished just in time to do homework for the weekend and get back to classes. “Ack” is the only thing I’ve come up with so far.

  2. Ooohh, did you like Molly Wizenberg’s book? I just rediscovered her blog, Orangette, and it has motivated me to start cooking more, even if it’s just for me. Mainly I’ve been making a lot of soup.

Leave a Reply

