sun and stars besides

I hope you’re doing well, dear
Despite the world’s transitions
I know you’ve been through hell, dear
And pain has no conditions

I’m doing fine these days, love
In spite of my addictions
To hurt and heat and sorrow
And joy is my contrition

We could be beggars, we could be outcasts
We could be strangers forever and ever
We could inherit all of the cosmos
And the sun and stars besides

I know we’re not okay, dear, we never were to start with
But know that in the day’s clear light stars still break the darkness

And all our past and future collide here in the present
Sewn up here in the sutures of glory luminescent

We could be princes, we could be heroes
We could be fire forever and ever
We could bring beauty to all the planets
And the sun and stars besides

And if I could but ask you
To hold me like a promise
I’d take you as a shelter
From the mercy falling on us

We could be beggars, we could be heroes
We could be warriors forever and ever
We will rise over all of the cosmos
And the sun and stars besides

2 thoughts on “sun and stars besides

Leave a Reply

