month of happiness: #244

1920s-1940s period clothing

I keep having to remind myself that had I actually been living in the 1920s-40s, unless I emigrated to Hawaii or California or something, I’d be back in the old country looking more like this:

Image

(photo from Library of Congress)

than this:

Image

(photo from http://uramericansinparis.wordpress.com/)

And, I mean, that’s fine.

But I love those early 20th-century pieces, the footloose and fancy-free nature of them, clothing worn by women shedding corsets and layers and layers of petticoats for movement (both physical and metaphorical) and entering the workforce during hard times. It’s the clothing of women who know what they want, and even if they don’t have it, they’ll get there. But they’re still ladies with some class–even with the boyish figures and haircuts, they’re still pretty grounded in their femininity. And I aspire to that, not only in what I wear (although I’ve got too much curve to be a flapper…), but in how I carry myself, too.

Besides, cloches are super-cute.

Leave a Reply

