and you told me to be patient / and you told me to be kind

I should be at the gym right now, especially since a) I haven’t been in over a week and b) I just ate a hamburger and a half (homemade, to be fair), but I am still slightly nap-groggy and in a writerly mood, so you get a blog post instead while I listen to Bon Iver.

I tweeted a while ago that I think I get something like seasonal affective disorder, only during the summer instead of the winter like normal people, but as this is Houston, apparently I’m not alone. The cooler months around here are like some sort of magic; when we can drag out our sweaters and hoodies, it’s like Aslan is on the move. We’re like a perverse sort of Narnia–always summer, never Christmas. This year has been a little bit better, though, what with the almost-daily thunderstorms we were having for a while. I’ve written here before that rain always makes me think of God–His power, His majesty, but also His mercy to the just and the unjust, of which I am both.

A few of us at church have been doing those read the Bible in a year plans, and the particular one I’ve been using has had me in Proverbs for a while. The fear of the Lord is where wisdom begins, writes the Teacher, which of course has me asking the question: If the fear of Him is where it starts, where does it continue? What sustains it?

So far, the only answer I can find to that question is, of course, the love of the Lord. His forgiveness is why He is feared, and despite our foolishness and our sloth, He, the Wisdom of God, continues to keep pulling us back to righteousness all the time. I’m trying to learn to walk down this road.

What have you been pondering these days, friends?

One thought on “and you told me to be patient / and you told me to be kind

  1. I’ve been contemplating John 6:68-69 — “Simon Peter answered him, ‘Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life. We believe and know that you are the Holy One of God.'” It’s all about Jesus. May we keep our eyes on Him and Who He is!

Leave a Reply

