a meditation on ephesians 2:9

And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not the result of works, so that no one may boast.

I tried so hard–

I sewed myself a wedding dress
Of leaves gathered from the fig tree
Withering beneath the morning sun
While the bridegroom went going to fight my dragons
I found myself trying to gather it together
While it crumbled all around my feet

I built an ivory tower to keep out
The demons knocking at the door
And they kept scaling the walls and climbing
In the windows and trying to drag me out
With them to their doom
And the unrighteous run to it and are consumed

But you will not leave me alone
Your invitations keep filling up my mailbox
And only occasionally will I respond with a “yes”
Because I get that you only send them
To people that don’t think you want them to come

No, I was never good enough
And thank God for that

3 thoughts on “a meditation on ephesians 2:9

  1. I like this poem!!

    You may remember me from CCCS days… I had a dream last night that there was a CCCs 8th grade reunion which led me to this blog. Email me sometime, we have much in common. 🙂

    Ariel

Leave a Reply

