Here’s to blogging again.

Starting music: Beethoven’s 9th Symphony.

1. My friend/community group leader Nick has a new blog and I think you ought to read it, especially if you are fond of finding beauty and grace in all things.
1a. My friend/Nick’s wife Kristin also a blog with recipes, especially good for all you paleo/GF/grain-free people. First recipe on the page right now is for grain-free Oreos.

2. Glory be to God for nineteenth-century composers, even Wagner; spicy pork in the slow cooker for tacos, a steady paycheck, the future resurrection of the physical world, and J.K. Rowling.

3. So thanks to this post (and some other things), I’ve been rather convicted about how food-obsessive I can be. Some of it is necessary, given my gluten intolerance, but ever since I was a little kid, I’ve been a repeat reader of cookbooks and food writing, to the point where I often have food on the mind a lot. And that can be good, when turned to thanksgiving or creativity or some other way to honor the Lord with how and why I eat, but it can all too easily become idolatry. And it’s just not healthy, for my body or for my soul, neither of which belong to me, in the end. I have been bought with a price; I am not my own. And neither is what I do with these things.

4. That being said, back to the gym in the morning for me…

5. Out of my mouth this evening at work:

Oh, you know I’ve got those low-down bookseller blues
Oh, you know I’ve got those low-down bookseller blues
You told me the color of the cover and nothing else
And I don’t know what you expect me to do

Yep…

6. There’s nothing that will make you feel more like the thesis of Bobos In Paradise than eating Kashi corn flakes with Whole Foods almond milk while wearing yoga pants and a Wilco t-shirt.

7. That’s all I have. Good night.

Leave a Reply

