on being a grown-up.

I’ve been pondering a quote from C.S. Lewis–I don’t recall it exactly, but it’s something to the effect of, “When I became a man, I put away childish things–including the desire to seem very grown-up.”

My generation–and no one more so than myself–tends to say things like “I don’t even feel like an adult” or “If I just reach such and such a life point, I’ll be an adult.” Well, the truth of the matter is, people, we are adults, even if we’re still single or we’re living with our parents or we don’t own a house yet or we don’t have kids or if, quite frankly, we still kind of want to be in college.

I wonder if it wouldn’t help with our maturity—my maturity–if we shed this idea that adulthood looks a certain way and took up the responsibilities and rootedness that it actually entails. If we are in Christ, our groundedness is in Him and what He has called us to being, and even if we happen to be in certain circumstances, He has given us the task of living as His people. And that takes work, it takes pain, and it also bears fruit.

Of course, this doesn’t, on the other hand, mean that I have to stop reading Harry Potter. That ain’t ever going to happen, folks.

Leave a Reply

