10,000 reasons.

I woke up and got to work on time this morning. I have a warm house. I can wear whatever I want to my job. My coworkers are kind and joyful lunatics. My boss let me stay an extra hour to get some stuff done (and a little extra cash). New merchandise. A friendly mailman.

The sun comes up, it’s a new day dawning
It’s time to sing Your song again
Whatever may pass and whatever lies before me
Let me be singing when the evening comes

Robitussin. Books. Coffee. Doctor Who. The songs of ascent. Podcasts. Ruggles Green. Allergy meds. Tea. Magazines. A working phone. Netflix. The Book of Common Prayer. Knitted lace. Cold weather.

You’re rich in love and You’re slow to anger
Your name is great and Your heart is kind

Cellos. New guitar strings. Good-quality inexpensive headphones. The Macy’s parade. Our country’s mythologies, for better or for worse. The mothers and fathers of my faith. Twitter. Access to information. Literacy. Handel’s Messiah.

For all Your goodness I will keep on singing
Ten thousand reasons for my heart to find

A church where I can serve and love. Its people, who have loved me continually. The body of Christ witnessing faithfully around the world and throughout time. That God still speaks by His Spirit–and that by the same Spirit I can speak to Him. That Jesus didn’t look at me and refuse to help, but that He loved me despite my bad record. “No guilt in life, no fear in death.”

Bless the Lord, O my soul, O my soul
Worship His holy name
Sing like never before, O my soul
Worship His holy name

Happy Thanksgiving. Find your 10,000 reasons today.

Leave a Reply

