Poured out

“I really do have love to give! I just don’t know where to put it!” –Quiz Kid Donnie Smith, played by William H. Macy, Magnolia

I used to think that I was
An empty jar
With my face turned upward
To wait for the sweetest wine
To fill me up and quench my thirst

But now I know
That I have been filled up
With water and carried to the desert
To give life to thirsty travelers
On their way to another country

And they will pour me out
Into cups and troughs

But they will keep dipping me
Into the coolest wells
They will wrap me up
So I will not break

And little did I know
That these were wandering princes
And high-born ladies
That this poor clay jar
Has the privilege to love


(This is a response to and a ruminating upon this article. I recommend it highly.)

Leave a Reply

