rest.

Hi. WordPress tells me that I wrote all of four posts in 2016. Time to fix that, maybe.

The past month or so I’ve been thinking through a lot of stuff in my life, and I’ve realized that I’m really bad at rest–I’m good at sitting around reading the Internet, which isn’t really the same as rest. I feel like I have to be on all the time, because there’s always something to be done, some more information to be discovered, some other book or article or whatever to be read, some other project I have to get done. And as a result, I’m always anxious or stressed out.

This is a problem, and it’s one with deep roots in my soul. I could unpack all the reasons I feel like this, but what it comes down to is that I do not trust God to care for me, and I do not trust that I will be okay if I do not have my crap together. I don’t think that I’m alone in this.

So yes, there’s all kinds of stuff I need to do–I need to work well and keep my life in some kind of order and take care of myself physically and mentally, to be a good steward of the things God has given to me. But I also need to rest in the grace and work of Christ, because that’s where my acceptance and approval comes from. God does not love me because I have my crap together. Quite the contrary, actually. He loves me at my messiest, He loves me in my sin, and He loved me enough to put me back together.

So that’s the theme I’m going to try to go with this year: Rest in the unconditional love of God that He has set on me–on me specifically–and to trust His goodness instead of trying to fix my own life. Ironically, this will probably help me get my crap together better because I won’t be anxious about stuff all the time, but that’s just a side effect. A really nice side effect, but it’s not the end goal here.

What about you, readers? What’s the theme you’re setting for this year?

Leave a Reply

