holy tuesday: nicodemus.

I stand aside and watch my colleagues ask you questions,
Which are in actuality excuses to try to make you look foolish
Or heretical or treasonous. I have tried in the past to
Defend you to them, though ineffectually, even while I’m still
Trying to puzzle out what you told me that night several years ago.

I heard you talking to the Greeks earlier, too–was that
A kindness to them or a provocation toward us? Or maybe it was both;
I wonder at the implications of that. I heard you say that
A seed must die before it sprouts and multiplies, much like
You told me once that a man must be born again. Does that rebirth
Require death, too? And if so, what does that mean for me,
Still trying to decide whether I believe or not?

Are you asking me to come and die for your cause, rabbi?
Or are you offering some other kind of life instead?
Maybe it is both; I wonder at the implications of that.

Leave a Reply

